Agar Agar 50 g Øko
Vegetarian gelatine substitute made from algae extracts.
- Use instead of gelatine
- Natural algae extract
- Extracted from seaweed
Recommended use:. Use as gelatine and thickener in foods. Mix 1 tsp (2.5 g) with app. 750 ml liquid. Boil for 2 minutes - stir frequently. Turns solid when cool. Store in a cool, dry place.
Agar agar powder is a vegetarian gelatine substitute made from algae extract. Agar agar is additive no. E406 and may be used instead of gelatine.
The algae used in agar agar are harvested in Spain where cultivation areas are classified as "bio-qualified" by Spanish authorities. Harvests are analysed by government officials before being "bio-approved". Algae are harvested from the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea.
However, agar agar is more than just a substitute for animal gelatine. It is a very efficient, natural algae extract. E406 is a natural food thickener and stabilizer extracted from seaweed. It is a legal food additive in Danish organic products.
In 1660, a Japanese accidentally discovered the gelling effect of seaweed. Agar agar is extracted from red seaweed types Gelidium og Gracilaria (Rhodophyceae family). Gelidium is harvested on the Atlantic Coast of Morocco, Spain, Portugal and France, and Gracilaria comes from coastal areas of Chile, South Korea, Japan and Argentina.
|Nutrition facts||per 100 g|
- saturated fatty acids
|Dietary fibres||86 g|
|Protein||< 0,5 g|
Organic Agar Agar, E406